HomeOpen Wheel Modified NewsBerry blasts to 2024 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award

Berry blasts to 2024 Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award

Published on

- Advertisement -

The Summit USMTS National Championship presented by RacinDirt tests the skill of the nation’s best and most successful dirt modified drivers on the planet, and Tom Berry Jr. put his skills on display during the opening weekend of action for the 2023 season.

The series kicked off the 25th season of USMTS at the 13th Annual Summit Spring Nationals at the Rocket Raceway Park in Petty, Texas, with an event record 87 entries. Drivers had one eye on the $10,000 winner’s share of the purse and the other on the $100,000 paycheck awaiting the 2023 USMTS National Champion at season’s end.

Five of the drivers in the first six rows to start the 40-lap main event were seeking their first USMTS victory, but when the checkered flag waved it was just four as Tom Berry Jr. scored his first win in the kickoff to his quest for the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year title.

Berry comes from a deeply rooted family legacy which includes his grandfather, Bill Berry, who was a professional drag boat racer who held the world record in 1967 and 1968, and his father, Tom Berry Sr., a professional AMA flat track racer from 1970-1980.

A third generation racer from Oregon now living in Des Moines, Iowa, Berry captured two USMTS checkered flags in 2023, and wrapped up the season with two top-10 finishes at the Arrowhead Speedway to clinch the Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award.

Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year
Final 2023 standings and statistics
1. 11X Tom Berry Jr., Des Moines, Iowa … 1784 (2 wins)
2. K9 Will Krup, Mt. Carmel, Ill. … 1727
3. 4 Jeremy Nelson, Alexandria, Minn. … 1587
4. 58X Gary Christian, Broken Bow, Okla. … 1508
5. 99L Steve Lavasseur, River Falls, Wis. … 1321

Rookie points are awarded to each eligible competitor based on their best twenty-four (24) points efforts during the year. Eligible drivers have not participated in more than twenty-four (24) USMTS events prior to the current year, or won a USMTS “A” Main during a prior year.


Grant Junghans USMTS Rookie of the Year Award winners:
2000 – Kevin Peters, Monmouth, Ill.
2001 – Jason Hughes, Salina, Okla.
2002 – Justin Boney. Leavenworth, Kan.
2003 – Corey Dripps, Cedar Falls, Iowa
2004 – Zack VanderBeek, New Sharon, Iowa
2005 – Brad McEwan, Storm Lake, Iowa
2006 – Jay Poidinger, Somerset, Wis.
2007 – Scott Green, Derby, Kan.
2008 – Brandon Kenny, Woodward, Okla.
2009 – Grant Junghans, Manhattan, Kan.
2010 – Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
2011 – Jason Grimes. Jamestown, N.D.
2012 – Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, N.M.
2013 – Trevor Hunt, Kearney, Mo.
2014 – Cade Dillard, Robeline, La.
2015 – Jesse Sobbing, Malvern, Iowa
2016 – Ricky Thornton Jr., Chandler, Ariz.
2017 – R.C. Whitwell, Tucson, Ariz.
2018 – Jake O’Neil, Tucson, Ariz.
2019 – Hunter Mariott, Brookfield, Mo.
2020 – Tanner Mullens, Wichita, Kan.
2021 – Brooks Strength, Raymond, Miss.
2022 – Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, Iowa
2023 – Tom Berry Jr., Des Moines, Iowa.

With 24 different drivers garnering the USMTS rookie title, five of them have never won a USMTS feature, although the other 19 have a combined 398 victories during their careers.

Only Hughes (2001) and Johnny Scott (2010) went on to also win a USMTS national championship. Hughes has four while Scott has one.

Among those competing for the rookie title in 2023, drivers still below the starts threshold and eligible to compete for the honors in 2024 include Randy Brown, Cody Thompson, Jacob Hobscheidt, Trevor Hughes, Colton Eck, Wyatt Gaggero, Daniel Drury, Chase Wascom, Corey Neil Jr., Brennan Gave, Cory Davis, Tyler Barker and Casey Schlichting.

Watch every USMTS event online live and on-demand from anywhere on any device with RacinDirt. Download the app at Roku, Amazon Fire, iOS, Apple TV or on Google Play.

Visit usmts.com for schedules, points, photos, souvenirs, videos and more. Follow our social media channels on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter and YouTube. Click here to get USMTS news delivered to your inbox.

- Advertisement -

Recent articles

Central Missouri Speedway Championship Racing Returns Saturday, June 15!

Central Missouri Speedway June 11, 2024 By Sam Stoecklin For Immediate Release Championship weekly racing...

Dennis Erb, Jr. Transfers into Dirt Late Model Dream; Embarks on First Week of Summer Nationals

(CARPENTERSVILLE, ILLINOIS) Dennis Erb, Jr. and his #28 team competed in the...

Kankakee County Speedway Results – 6/7/24

15 entries DIRTCAR PRO LATE MODELS A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 130-Chase...

Callaway Raceway Results – 6/14/24

8 entries POWRI PURE STOCKS A Feature 1 (15 Laps): 1. 21-Darin Porter;...

Bobby Pierce Regains Confidence as he Prepares to Tackle 11 Races in 17 Days

Pierce amassed an eight-place climb in the standings since April, sitting...

Benton Speedway Results – 6/8/24

19 entries SPRINT CARS Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 23-Jeff Asher; 2. 00-Broc...

Spoon River Speedway Results – 6/14/24

11 entries DIRTCAR LATE MODELS Feature (25 Laps): 1. H6-Mike Chasteen Jr; 2....

Coles County Speedway Results – 6/13/24

14 entries Patriot Landscape Restricted Micros A Feature 1 (20 Laps): 1. 81-Braxton...


Timm uses top to top USMTS Masters opener

Jake Timm’s dream season continued Thursday night with a victory on opening night of...

Mike McKinney Wins 14th Annual Summit Modified Season Opener at Peoria

There’s a reason why Mike McKinney is currently the No. 1-ranked DIRTcar UMP Modified...

Tyler Erb leads Flag-to-Flag in Summer Nationals Season Opener at Peoria

By Colby Trotter PEORIA, IL (June 12, 2024) – In his first race out on...

Cade Dillard Scores Career Win in Big Deal 24 at Mississippi Thunder Speedway

Dominates Finale for $100,001 Payday ROBELINE, La. (06/03/24) – Cade Dillard piloted his S&S Fishing...

Cade Dillard wins $100,001 ONUM Dirt Modified event at Mississippi Thunder Speedway!

145 entries A MODIFIEDS A Feature (100 Laps): 1. 97-Cade Dillard; 2. 24C-Jim Chisholm; 3. 49-Jake...