HomeSprint Car & Midget NewsAmerican Sprint Car Series (ASCS) NewsR.J. Johnson Back On Top With ASCS Arizona Non-Wing

R.J. Johnson Back On Top With ASCS Arizona Non-Wing

Published on

- Advertisement -

Bryan Hulbert – CASA GRANDE, Ariz. (March 25, 2023) Garnering his 17th career victory with the ASCS Arizona Non-Wing Sprints, R.J. Johnson returned to Victory Lane Saturday night at Central Arizona Raceway.

Taking off from the right of the front row, the win is R.J.’s first of the season with the wingless series.

Leading from start to finish, the advantage at the finish was 2.399-seconds over Logan Calderwood, who picked up five spots for second. Cameron La Rose third was followed by Pete Yerkovich. The top five rounded out with Daylin Perreira from 12th.

Charles Davis, Jr., Eugene Thomas, Tuesday Calderwood, Troy DeGaton, and Justin Kierce made up the top ten.

The ASCS Arizona Non-Wing Sprints return to Central Arizona Raceway on Saturday, May 6. For information on the track and coming events, log onto or call (602) 292-7607.

The 2023 season will mark the 32nd year of competition for the American Sprint Car Series. Spearheaded by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by the MAVTV Motorsports Network, the ASCS Nation includes Regional Tours that encompass both wing and non-wing competition.

For other news, notes, and information on any of the tours under the ASCS banner, log onto, follow on Facebook, Instagram, and Twitter (@LucasOilASCS).

Race Results:

ASCS Arizona Non-Wing
Central Arizona Raceway (Casa Grande, Ariz.)
Saturday, March 25, 2023

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 51-RJ Johnson[1]; 2. 3-Pete Yerkovich[2]; 3. 17-Ricky Lewis[6]; 4. 0-Jonas Reynolds[3]; 5. 43-Justin Kierce[4]; 6. 3V-Jim Vanzant[5]; 7. (DNS) 10-George Zills

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 11C-Charles Davis Jr[4]; 2. 6-Logan Calderwood[1]; 3. 39T-Troy DeGaton[3]; 4. 21-Austin Ervine[6]; 5. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[5]; 6. 49Z-Karl Ackley[7]; 7. 72-AJ Hernandez[2]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 5-Cameron La Rose[4]; 2. 51W-Ronald Webster[5]; 3. 10T-Eugene Thomas[1]; 4. 007-Wayne Siddle[2]; 5. 21P-Daylin Perreira[6]; 6. 3K-Patrick Krob[3]; 7. 13-Alex Wood[7]

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 51-RJ Johnson[2]; 2. 6-Logan Calderwood[7]; 3. 5-Cameron La Rose[5]; 4. 3-Pete Yerkovich[1]; 5. 21P-Daylin Perreira[12]; 6. 11C-Charles Davis Jr[6]; 7. 10T-Eugene Thomas[10]; 8. 4-Tuesday Calderwood[14]; 9. 39T-Troy DeGaton[9]; 10. 43-Justin Kierce[15]; 11. 007-Wayne Siddle[13]; 12. 49Z-Karl Ackley[16]; 13. 21-Austin Ervine[8]; 14. 51W-Ronald Webster[4]; 15. 0-Jonas Reynolds[11]; 16. 3K-Patrick Krob[18]; 17. 72-AJ Hernandez[20]; 18. 3V-Jim Vanzant[17]; 19. 13-Alex Wood[19]; 20. (DNS) 17-Ricky Lewis; 21. (DNS) 10-George Zills

- Advertisement -

Recent articles

Ryan Gustin and Todd Cooney Join Forces For 2024 Season

HAWKEYE TANDEM: Ryan Gustin And Todd Cooney Join Forces For 2024...

Jensen Ford Prepares for New Horizons in 2024

Ends 2023 Campaign with a Runner-Up Finish in The LeftoverJOHNSON CITY,...

Cory Hedgecock Gobbles 411 Motor Speedway’s Leftover

Ends 2023 Campaign with $2,5000 TriumphLOUDON, Tenn. (11/28/23) – Cory Hedgecock...

USMTS unleashes 2024 schedule

On the heels of a record-breaking year and the richest season...

Chisholm fetches FK Rod Ends USMTS Hard Charger of the Year Award

Jim Chisholm of Osage, Iowa, capped off a spectacular year with...

Pierce McCarter Takes Over Daily Operations at McCarter Brothers Racing

Season Set to Open with Crate Racin’ USA Winter SeriesGATLINBURG, Tenn....

Logan Schuchart Hungry Heading Into 11th World of Outlaws Campaign

The veteran is more motivated than ever for his first championship...


Passion Brings Bill Rose Back to World of Outlaws in 2024

The Indiana native’s love of the sport and lifestyle has him ready for another...

Pursley & Team AZ Set to Go USAC Sprint & Silver Crown Racing in 2024

By: Richie Murray – USAC Media Speedway, Indiana (December 4, 2023)………Fresh off a season in...

Season No. 33 For The ASCS National Tour Revealed!

Bryan Hulbert – DRUMRIGHT, Okla. (December 2, 2023) Gearing up for the 33rd season...


 LAS VEGAS, NEVADA (December 2, 2023) – Aaron Willison of Langley, British Columbia, Canada led...

Chase McDermand Looking Toward Future with Dave Mac-Dalby Motorsports

PLANS COME TOGETHER: Chase McDermand Looking Toward Future with Dave Mac-Dalby Motorsports A chat at...